Gun Culture

Axaday

Citizen
Apparently an active shooter is on the OU campus right now.

I live in Oklahoma and I've never been a part of the gun culture, but I'm surrounded by it. I've always said, "Yeah I don't have a problem with all the responsible gun owners, as long as we have ways to make sure that is who owns guns." I've been changing my tune. I am really starting to solid believe that about 1000 "responsible" people who love to see what military weapons do to soup cans and beer bottles autogenerates a person who wants to see what they can do to a human. I just feel like all my neurons are pointing to it now. "Responsible" gun owners ARE the problem.

Rhinox

too old for this
Citizen
I work in a town of 2,000 people. I've been a cop for about a month. In that time there has been a LOT of conversation about what our response would be to a school shooter in town. It is absolutely a concern and something law enforcement thinks about all the time. (I've already gone through 3 'room clearing' simulations/training.) There's actually a big training being held this weekend on this very subject, put on by the KBI. K-State did one earlier in the week.

There has to be something that can be done because this is just asinine. I got into another "discussion" with a gun nut who wanted to play the 'cars kill more than guns' card and didn't appreciate his argument being dismantled. But the scary part is, for every asshole online, there's at least one in town whose also just as crazy about their weapons and how 'we ain't takin' his guns'.

CoffeeHorse

*sip*
Staff member
Council of Elders
Citizen
We're out there.