Hasbro files trademarks for Maximal and Predacon faction insignias. Also: Extensive faction insignia trademark history.

Nevermore

Citizen
So these were recently filed by Hasbro.
Maximal insignia.png
Predacon insignia.png

Obviously, those are for the upcoming "Rise of the Beasts" film.

Which has led a lot of people to speculate whether this means they could have simply used those insignias before and then sued Hasbro for trademark infringement.

Obviously, that's not how this works, but it made me curious.

Some people have also suggested that it might be possible that Kenner, rather than Hasbro, had originally registered the insignias.

So I started researching the full history of Hasbro's trademarks for Transformers faction insigias.

You're welcome.

Preface: IANAL (I am not a lawyer). I'm sure a lawyer will be able to answer this much better, but I'd like to start with "it's complicated". As someone said a long time ago, when it comes to trademark law, there is no simple "A plus B equals C, all the time".

Kenner as a company apparently only ever applied for 90 trademarks with the USPTO for "toys", none of which are image marks. That's in part due to the fact that during the time Kenner was a separate company from Hasbro, trademarks were of less relevance than they are today. (For example, Tonka's GoBots line featured toys named "Blaster", "Rumble" and "Warpath" that were available concurrently with Hasbro's Transformers toys of those same names, while Tomy's US division had registered the name "Scrapper" in the "toys" category in 1985, the same year Hasbro released the Constructicons, decades before Tomy merged with Takara, and as far as I'm aware, none of those caused any trademark disputes between those companies, though a lawyer with in-depth knowledge of US trademark history may correct me on this.)