Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Squawkbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

Please don't post Youtube videos in the chat box. The forums software auto embeds them. 

@  Paladin : (26 May 2020 - 08:10 PM)

it's too hugging hot today.

@  -LittleAutob... : (25 May 2020 - 03:39 PM)

I'll agree with you on that.

@  -LittleAutob... : (25 May 2020 - 03:39 PM)

*Figured -_-

@  -LittleAutob... : (25 May 2020 - 03:39 PM)

I fugured

@  Steevy Maximus : (25 May 2020 - 01:37 PM)

I'm actually sad Cyberverse won't get another season. 2 and 3 (of what I've seen) have REALLY nailed it in being fun little actions shows, like the Sunbow series.

@  Rycochet : (25 May 2020 - 01:00 PM)

Yes.

@  Maximus Ambus : (25 May 2020 - 12:52 PM)

I'm waiting for Animated season 4. Am I insane?

@  wonko the sane? : (25 May 2020 - 11:22 AM)

I'm waiting for the next season to show up on netflix.

@  Sabrblade : (25 May 2020 - 10:59 AM)

Many of us have already watched the rest of the Cyberverse episodes since the whole third season aired in the UK last September.

@  -LittleAutob... : (25 May 2020 - 10:18 AM)

*9th

@  -LittleAutob... : (25 May 2020 - 10:17 AM)

I just saw the 8th episode... omg

@  Bass X0 : (25 May 2020 - 01:28 AM)

Already seen it online.

@  -LittleAutob... : (24 May 2020 - 09:42 PM)

Who's excited for tomorrow? The only thing that makes Monday worth it is the Cyberverse episodes .-.

@  wonko the sane? : (24 May 2020 - 12:30 PM)

Welcome. I just came into that trick myself recently, so happy to share.

@  Nevermore : (24 May 2020 - 12:05 PM)

Thanks, wonko the sane? for the tip with the cloning. That helped a lot!

@  -LittleAutob... : (24 May 2020 - 12:02 PM)

Heheh.... yes... I don't think a sniper would be very good at making a vaccine... 0.0

@  Nevermore : (24 May 2020 - 11:48 AM)

All right! Cloning my old HHD to an SSD and then swapping out the drive was successful, it would appear. Finally.

@  Bass X0 : (24 May 2020 - 11:30 AM)

Scientist Perceptor is. Sniper Perceptor less so.

@  -LittleAutob... : (24 May 2020 - 10:51 AM)

Perceptor would be more responsible.

@  -LittleAutob... : (24 May 2020 - 10:48 AM)

Oof x~x

@  TheMightyMol... : (24 May 2020 - 10:45 AM)

He'd cure the virus, but he'd probably commit at least two crimes against nature and weaponize a third in the process.

@  -LittleAutob... : (24 May 2020 - 09:39 AM)

'Horrible consequences' would most likely happen with Brainstorm...

@  -LittleAutob... : (24 May 2020 - 08:16 AM)

Totally. And Percy's not even human. XD

@  TheMightyMol... : (24 May 2020 - 06:50 AM)

Can't do much worse than our current government, I say go for it.

@  Sabrblade : (23 May 2020 - 10:13 PM)

Little do we realize that the Perceptor in question is the Mini-Con combiner. :p

@  -LittleAutob... : (23 May 2020 - 10:11 PM)

He would!!!

@  -LittleAutob... : (23 May 2020 - 10:11 PM)

Horrible consequences? I... Doubt that would happen.

@  wonko the sane? : (23 May 2020 - 09:55 PM)

Even if he would come up with the answer by tomorrow.

@  wonko the sane? : (23 May 2020 - 09:54 PM)

I'd rather not deal with the horrible but unintended consequences of that.

@  -LittleAutob... : (23 May 2020 - 09:52 PM)

Lets let Perceptor make a vaccine for COVID-19. Who agrees with me :)

@  -LittleAutob... : (23 May 2020 - 08:43 PM)

I'll take your word for it. =D

@  TM2-Megatron : (23 May 2020 - 08:42 PM)

Although the TV edits of Robocop do contain some hilarity

@  TM2-Megatron : (23 May 2020 - 08:41 PM)

I can't think of any instance where sanitizing a film is a good thing.

@  -LittleAutob... : (23 May 2020 - 06:42 PM)

.... and thats a good thing? :doh

@  Steevy Maximus : (23 May 2020 - 06:39 PM)

I'm watching Predator on Starz! That means it has all the language and gore uncensored!

@  Sabrblade : (23 May 2020 - 04:23 PM)

*grabs popcorn*

@  -LittleAutob... : (23 May 2020 - 12:49 PM)

*watching everyone argue* O^O

@  fourteenwings : (23 May 2020 - 10:22 AM)

By that logic we might as well just get rid of the Shoutbox wholesale! I'd rather have like 3 or 4 things stuck for a week or so than one person dominating the whole thing (no offense Nevermore).

@  PlutoniumBoss : (23 May 2020 - 03:30 AM)

I would argue that "full of something one doesn't read" and "devoid of reading material" are functionally identical at the end-user level. :D

@  NotVeryKnightly : (22 May 2020 - 07:58 PM)

If it emptied, it would become empty.

@  PlutoniumBoss : (22 May 2020 - 07:53 PM)

It would be the same effect as if the shoutbox simply emptied once or twice a week.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (22 May 2020 - 07:27 PM)

I don't see how having walls of the same guy on top whenever I go to any page on this site is "refreshing".

@  PlutoniumBoss : (22 May 2020 - 06:10 PM)

I don't know, I find the occasional flushing of the box to be refreshing.

@  Telly : (22 May 2020 - 04:20 PM)

but its gets annoying seeing a wall of text from him that takes up most of the shoutbox

@  PlutoniumBoss : (22 May 2020 - 03:53 PM)

Eh, that's just Nevermore.

@  fourteenwings : (22 May 2020 - 12:11 AM)

@Nevermore: Good rule of thumb is if you feel like you need not just multiple statements but also multiple shouts to make a point, best just make a thread.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (21 May 2020 - 05:36 PM)

Dude, do you just, not know when to stop?

@  Nevermore : (21 May 2020 - 03:35 PM)

Instead of "I have only ten hours to get all my stuff from place A to place B", it's more like "I temporarily stored 90% of my stuff in easily accessible place C in my spare time, so now I have ten hours to get the remaining 10% of my stuff over to the new place before permanently saying goodbye to the old place".

@  NotVeryKnightly : (21 May 2020 - 03:33 PM)

At these point you two are just repeating what you already said.

@  Nevermore : (21 May 2020 - 03:32 PM)

Again using my "moving apartments" analogy. If you can store the stuff you don't immediately need for everyday life somewhere else, it reduces the critical time of permanently switching your primary base of residence over to the new place because there's less stuff to move when the time comes.


Photo
- - - - -

Windows 7 issue


18 replies to this topic

#1 Shadewing

Shadewing

    Artichoke of Misery

  • Supporter
  • 36706 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Nowhere.
  • Faction::Free Agent

Posted 05 October 2019 - 04:29 AM

So, for some reason the normal "Aero" theme doesn't load, and it looks like Win XP. It's not an issue with the themes, already went through that thread. Is there other reasons for this?


3DS Friend Code: 0387-9040-3532

 

Twitch Channel

 

Youtube Replays

 

VOTE for what I play on 8/30!

 

Friday: Sonic Generations - Sunday: Transformers WFC - Tuesday: Little Inferno


#2 Copper Bezel

Copper Bezel

    Thighs should be seductive.

  • Supporter
  • 51244 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Web Exclusive!
  • Faction::Equestrian

Posted 05 October 2019 - 05:13 AM

Win XP as in the bright blue and silver window theme with the puffy plastic shading, slightly rounded window buttons, and bright red close button? (That's not normally possible.) Or does it still look like Windows 7 (wide window buttons and probably sky blue bars) but not transparent, I.e. effects turned off? Or finally, does it look like the Classic Mode that Windows 7 includes, where everything is square and gray except for a duller blue strip on the title bars? (This has the same look as Windows 95 and is a version of the Classic Mode included in XP.)
Shouldn't gravity be doing something?
 
Of course there's a figure of Rodimus as some kind of animal girl. Why would I be surprised by this?

 


#3 Shadewing

Shadewing

    Artichoke of Misery

  • Supporter
  • 36706 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Nowhere.
  • Faction::Free Agent

Posted 05 October 2019 - 05:19 AM

Classic Mode.


3DS Friend Code: 0387-9040-3532

 

Twitch Channel

 

Youtube Replays

 

VOTE for what I play on 8/30!

 

Friday: Sonic Generations - Sunday: Transformers WFC - Tuesday: Little Inferno


#4 Copper Bezel

Copper Bezel

    Thighs should be seductive.

  • Supporter
  • 51244 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Web Exclusive!
  • Faction::Equestrian

Posted 05 October 2019 - 05:54 AM

Huh. And I have to assume Classic Mode isn't selected in Personalize. I think it's used as a fallback in Safe Mode but you'd know if you were in Safe Mode, pretty hard to miss. 

 

My first move would be to make a dummy user account and log into that. Since its settings will all be default (or, well, mostly default, Windows is weird) that'll tell you immediately whether it's a configuration / settings issue, or whether there's something globally wrong in the software. 

 

After that, I wouldn't know where to go except the many support threads around the net that come up when I search "Windows 7 stuck in safe mode".


Shouldn't gravity be doing something?
 
Of course there's a figure of Rodimus as some kind of animal girl. Why would I be surprised by this?

 


#5 Shadewing

Shadewing

    Artichoke of Misery

  • Supporter
  • 36706 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Nowhere.
  • Faction::Free Agent

Posted 05 October 2019 - 06:47 AM

Its not in Safe mode, I know that.


3DS Friend Code: 0387-9040-3532

 

Twitch Channel

 

Youtube Replays

 

VOTE for what I play on 8/30!

 

Friday: Sonic Generations - Sunday: Transformers WFC - Tuesday: Little Inferno


#6 Copper Bezel

Copper Bezel

    Thighs should be seductive.

  • Supporter
  • 51244 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Web Exclusive!
  • Faction::Equestrian

Posted 05 October 2019 - 07:09 AM

So yeah, I'd definitely try starting a new account and seeing whether or not it has the same issue, because that will allow you to narrow down the source of the problem. But there seem to be multiple independent things that can go wrong to cause this. = /


Shouldn't gravity be doing something?
 
Of course there's a figure of Rodimus as some kind of animal girl. Why would I be surprised by this?

 


#7 Hg Dragon

Hg Dragon

    Eyelaser Ninja Pirate

  • Citizen
  • 2679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dallas area
  • Faction::Free Agent

Posted 06 October 2019 - 12:52 PM

If you've gone into the "Personalization" settings and get Aero to turn back on, try reloading your graphics drivers. Sometimes some other app can crash and it will reset them and kill the Aero effect



#8 Benbot

Benbot

    What a nerd

  • Supporter
  • 5674 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Never Past Bedtime Land

Posted 08 October 2019 - 09:45 AM

I think the issue you're having is you're not running Windows 10.



#9 Copper Bezel

Copper Bezel

    Thighs should be seductive.

  • Supporter
  • 51244 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Web Exclusive!
  • Faction::Equestrian

Posted 08 October 2019 - 10:13 AM

The upgrade's not free anymore though. So whatever bad life choices people may have made, they're stuck with them now. Win10 has been more reliable than 7 for me, but that's very hard to measure and always subject to what seem to be whims of individual fate.


Shouldn't gravity be doing something?
 
Of course there's a figure of Rodimus as some kind of animal girl. Why would I be surprised by this?

 


#10 JRSBill

JRSBill

    Bow Ties are Cool

  • Supporter
  • 1360 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonder Lake, IL
  • Faction::Decepticon

Posted 08 October 2019 - 11:45 AM

Little known fact, if you do a fresh install of Windows 10, you can enter your Windows 7 or Windows 8 serial number and you will activate your copy of Windows 10 to a fully licensed copy of the same version the serial number was for. Either Windows 10 Home for Win 7/8 Home copy or Windows 10 Pro for a Win 7/8 Pro copy.

 

I do it all the time and grab serial numbers from junk systems to keep in a spreadsheet for future use.


Edited by JRSBill, 08 October 2019 - 12:13 PM.


#11 Copper Bezel

Copper Bezel

    Thighs should be seductive.

  • Supporter
  • 51244 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Web Exclusive!
  • Faction::Equestrian

Posted 08 October 2019 - 11:50 AM

Ah! I didn't realize that still worked. I thought that was still dependent on that upgrade window somehow. Too cool.

 

(Ha, so I never would have known the difference myself. The upgrade tool was complete shit when I tried it and I would have only ever tried a fresh install after seeing how it operated.)


Edited by Copper Bezel, 08 October 2019 - 11:51 AM.

Shouldn't gravity be doing something?
 
Of course there's a figure of Rodimus as some kind of animal girl. Why would I be surprised by this?

 


#12 Pocket

Pocket

    Hraeth ela mi!

  • Citizen
  • 4722 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 08 October 2019 - 12:21 PM

I do it all the time and grab serial numbers from junk systems to keep in a spreadsheet for future use.

 

I thought they require activation and that's tied to your MAC address or something.


If you ever somehow become a Catholic saint, be aware that they will harvest your bones and build altars around them.


#13 Copper Bezel

Copper Bezel

    Thighs should be seductive.

  • Supporter
  • 51244 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Web Exclusive!
  • Faction::Equestrian

Posted 08 October 2019 - 12:40 PM

No, that change is that newer machines (ones that would have shipped with Win10 anyway) don't have stickers and store the activation code internally in UEFI space or whatnot.


Shouldn't gravity be doing something?
 
Of course there's a figure of Rodimus as some kind of animal girl. Why would I be surprised by this?

 


#14 Dekafox

Dekafox

    Foxy Dragon

  • Citizen
  • 1754 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 October 2019 - 12:47 PM

Little known fact, if you do a fresh install of Windows 10, you can enter your Windows 7 or Windows 8 serial number and you will activate your copy of Windows 10 to a fully licensed copy of the same version the serial number was for. Either Windows 10 Home for Win 7/8 Home copy or Windows 10 Pro for a Win 7/8 Pro copy.

 

I do it all the time and grab serial numbers from junk systems to keep in a spreadsheet for future use.

 

Just a note that this depends on what disk image you're using to do the install.  It works for up through the Anniversary build, but from what I heard the latest disk images took that out, so you may need to find older install media if you want to do that.



#15 JRSBill

JRSBill

    Bow Ties are Cool

  • Supporter
  • 1360 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonder Lake, IL
  • Faction::Decepticon

Posted 08 October 2019 - 01:40 PM

Nope, I just used it with the latest version 1903. System came with 10 Home, I wiped the hard drive to get rid of Dell's bloatware crap. Installed a fresh ISO image of 1903. When it asked for the serial number, I used one of the Win 7 Ultimate serials in my spreadsheet and after Windows was up, it was activated to Windows 10 Pro.

 

I've done this more than a dozen times using all the various serial numbers I've accumulated over the years for people that need new computers and don't want to buy new. I just refurb with an SSD and more memory and do fresh 10 installs.


Edited by JRSBill, 08 October 2019 - 01:46 PM.


#16 Teufel

Teufel

    Who wants to rock forever?

  • Supporter
  • 6451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:America
  • Faction::Decepticon

Posted 08 October 2019 - 03:41 PM

You can still do a free upgrade from 7 to 10 with MS' Media Creation Tool. Run it, choose the upgrade option, choose to keep your files and programs. I've never had to re-activate after the dozens upon dozens of 7 PCs I've used this method on, but worst case scenario you would just call into Microsoft with your product key for activation as long as you have a product sticker key on your computer case or a retail copy of Win 7.

 

It can take a few hours but I very rarely run into problems with the upgrade.

 

I mean, this would seem like overkill to fix the OP's problem. For that I would chase down Hg Dragon's suggestions or try System Restore. But Win 7 security support ends in January anyway, so maybe it's a good excuse to take the plunge. Windows 10 isn't complete garbage and you can install something like Classic Shell to get a normal start menu instead of the Win 10 start menu with its grotesque Metro tumor. "We brought back the Start Menu." :rolleyes



#17 Copper Bezel

Copper Bezel

    Thighs should be seductive.

  • Supporter
  • 51244 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Web Exclusive!
  • Faction::Equestrian

Posted 08 October 2019 - 04:01 PM

I just use the full screen spread mode. I only use it for search-and-launch, which was improved over 7, and that makes the most sense full-screen.

 

I had the upgrade tool crash when I tried an upgrade and, once I got back to a desktop, it had to redownload the entire image file. Seemed manifestly safer to use it in the media install method at that point. But that was back when it was fresh so things may have changed.


Shouldn't gravity be doing something?
 
Of course there's a figure of Rodimus as some kind of animal girl. Why would I be surprised by this?

 


#18 Pocket

Pocket

    Hraeth ela mi!

  • Citizen
  • 4722 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 09 October 2019 - 01:29 PM

I got used to the piles-of-tiles thing pretty quickly; you just have to take the time to customize what's in it. Of course it's going to look horrible cluttered up with news headlines and ads for Candy Crush, but clear it out and fill it with your most commonly-used programs and it's basically a tidier, cleaner-looking version of covering your desktop with shortcuts. You can pin folders to it, too, which most people don't know about. The only complaint I have is that it locks everything down to columns of either 3 or 4, depending on a global setting; I'd prefer a more flexible grid. Maybe at some point down the line.

 

I'm very much not down with the ribbon they added to File Explorer, though. One of Vista's few big triumphs was managing to get rid of the menu bar and most of the buttons and still have an easy way to access all the options, and now the big buttons are back and they brought all their friends. Never mind classic Start Menu; I want an add-on that gives me back the Windows 7 File Explorer! Also I want the per-folder Preview View from XP back instead of this preview panel that's either always there or always not.


If you ever somehow become a Catholic saint, be aware that they will harvest your bones and build altars around them.


#19 Copper Bezel

Copper Bezel

    Thighs should be seductive.

  • Supporter
  • 51244 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Web Exclusive!
  • Faction::Equestrian

Posted 09 October 2019 - 02:08 PM

Yeah, the Start screen absolutely is a replacement for desktop icons in the way that they're typically used on Windows, and a hell of a lot tidier. I think one of the best illustrations is how Windows had had to add a button to show the desktop, which was functionally identical to producing an overlay like the Start screen but presented as hiding all the windows in between instead. I'd just already got out of the habit of using desktop icons in the first place and didn't need the new, better version. Like I have the Recycle Bin bookmarked in the file manager where it belongs.

 

I don't like the file manager switching view modes based on where I am, because then I'd have to go and set that up everywhere. I desperately need tabs though. I don't know how it's 2019 and File Explorer doesn't have tabs.


Edited by Copper Bezel, 09 October 2019 - 02:09 PM.

Shouldn't gravity be doing something?
 
Of course there's a figure of Rodimus as some kind of animal girl. Why would I be surprised by this?

 




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users