Quality of Life Improvements That Make Old Games Impossible to Play

Caldwin

Woobie Destroyer of Worlds
Citizen
We have a thread about outdated game mechanics (someone should bump that). How about game mechanics that may not be new necessarily, but they were brought about after the OG and it makes playing the OG unpleasant if not unplayable?

Maps:
I've personally played the original Metroid game so much that I don't really need a map. But with every game since Super Metroid on including a map, as much as I love it, I know that not having a map is what keeps a lot of people today from playing it.

Pokemon:
I started playing Pokemon at Alpha Sapphire. So playing any Pokemon without EXP Share or False Swipe just doesn't work for me. That's a major reason I just couldn't get into it.

Graphics were another thing. Go back to any Pokemon on Game Boy or Game Boy Color and look at your mon in the PC. Unless you know what pokemon is what (and heaven help you if you gave it a nickname) does that little icon really help you know what Pokemon you're looking at?

More recent games have thankfully given us dedicated rides, making HM slaves a thing of the past. Could I play another game with HM slaves? Sure, but it wouldn't be pleasant.

Also, being able to switch out pokemon whenever you want instead of hiking back to a Pokecenter, switching out moves whenever you want instead of finding the move tutor...both really nice quality of life improvements.

Every RPG:
This includes Pokemon, but it's also about RPG's in general. Having enemies on the map instead of random encounters. I can go back and play games with random encounters. In fact, if I could just get back to it, I'm trying to play Dragon Quest V. But enemies on the map are so much better.

Save States:
Go back and play a game that uses codes, I dare you.

Switching between games from the console main menu: