Jump to content


Entertainment Earth


Toggle shoutbox Squawkbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

Please don't post Youtube videos in the chat box. The forums software auto embeds them. 

@  MEDdMI : (25 August 2016 - 05:58 AM)

Aren't we the ones causing trouble for Kalidor?

@  LBD "Nyt... : (25 August 2016 - 12:17 AM)

Also, anyone know how to find the rest of how Kalidor got a kid in trouuuuuubleee?

@  LBD "Nyt... : (25 August 2016 - 12:11 AM)

@ TheMightyMol... : (24 August 2016 - 03:20 AM) Why do you hate yourself? -- I don't, really. Whether good or ill, I'd like to know how RG1 goes so, if nothing else, I can actually talk about it from a place of experience.

@  Verity Carlo : (24 August 2016 - 06:58 PM)

I've seen Minority Report, I don't want to read the same thing except with superheroes and also shit

@  Verity Carlo : (24 August 2016 - 06:57 PM)

You know, what I hate about Civil War II the most is that it's not even trying to break out of the Minority Report shaped hole it's in.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 02:39 PM)

the debate sems to be over.

@  MEDdMI : (24 August 2016 - 02:37 PM)

Wouldn't it be easier to debate this in the comics subforum?

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 01:31 PM)

I don't have anything else to say (although I still think G2 is the true ending, even if G I Joe doesn't mention it, it seems G I Joe/G2 crossover isn't canon for G I Joe comics but only for the Transformers continuity)

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 01:29 PM)

ok whatever you won.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 01:27 PM)

that's why I said "if", I dunno I didn't read G2 or G I Joe. 

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 01:26 PM)

Also,you're still basing this entirely on G2 matching a storyline that was part of G2 itself rather than whether or not G2 matches better with the G1 comic proper.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 01:24 PM)

The idea kind of falls apart when it requires that the apocalyptic alien invasions had such little impact that everyone easily just ignored forever.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 01:17 PM)

If some issues of G I Joe comics is a prelude to G2 and if there's nothing in the future G I Joe stories that condradicts San Francisco getting destroyed, yes I would say they share a continuity. 

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 01:02 PM)

If you're gonna go "we can assume it did happen even though it's never talked about as long as nothing specifically contradicts it", then surely it's just as easy to assume that the actual G1 TF and Joe crossover happened in the backstory of Classics and RG1.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 01:02 PM)

also I refrained from mentioning Ask Vector Prime but but didn't it say RG1 is a splinter timeline?

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 12:58 PM)

has san francisco ever appeared in G I Joe stories that was chronologically set after G2?

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:55 PM)

Intent is not the same as result. And comics end up ignoring things quite often.

@  Telly : (24 August 2016 - 12:54 PM)

maybe they figured a lot of people that read gi joe also read transformers. so they throw a crossover/build up in their to get some excitement for the new comic coming

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 12:51 PM)

If G2 universe was to be unrelated to G I Joe, why did they do a prelude to it?

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:33 PM)

Classics and RG1 not including Joe issues 138-145 in their backstory does not preclude them from including TF 1-80, or even the Joe and TF miniseries.

@  TheMightyMol... : (24 August 2016 - 12:30 PM)

Marvel 616 is also a massive continuity snarl from dozens of writers altering, retconning, or ignoring each others' work for decades, so it's not really a great example for an argument on continuity.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 12:29 PM)

Marvel 616 continuity is a shared universe, devastating events happens in individual series but does mean every event gets mentioned in other comics? @Notvery knightly, yeah that's why I edited that post.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:27 PM)

Your proof for "TF universe = Joe universe" itself is the G2 lead-up, so your reasoning still goes back to G2 matching G2.

@  TheMightyMol... : (24 August 2016 - 12:25 PM)

So did GI Joe ever reference the time Bludgeon sent his entire force to rampage across the Earth? Or the time Jhiaxus blew San Francisco into a crater?

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 12:25 PM)

whatever.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:22 PM)

Are you not seeing the recursiveness of "G2 is the true G1 sequel because G2 follows up on a G2 storyline"?

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 12:18 PM)

Yeah it has been established that Marvel Transformers and G I Joe comics takes place in the same universe. Unless 90s G I Joe was a reboot I'm pretty sure the G2 crossing over to a G I Joe comic that takes place in the very same universe as the original Transformers makes G2 the canon ending.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:16 PM)

A crossover that the Joe comic apparently ignored.

@  Arazyr : (24 August 2016 - 12:15 PM)

They had a crossover before that, 1986. http://tfwiki.net/wi...he_Transformers

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:15 PM)

Did G.I. Joe acknowledge the planet getting wrecked by the Swarm? Because otherwise it's more like "Marvel Transformers is the same universe as Marvel G.I. Joe only when they feel like it".

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:11 PM)

You're using the G.I. Joe G2 prequel itself as the basis for "Marvel Transformers universe is the same universe as the Marvel G I Joe", which makes this a rather loopy argument.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 12:07 PM)

As I said before, Marvel Transformers universe is the same universe as the Marvel G I Joe. Marvel G I Joe crossovers with G2, which makes G2 the canon ending. 

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 11:59 AM)

How is that relevant to whether or not RG1 (or Classics, even) takes place after issues 1 through 80 of Marvel TF proper?

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 11:51 AM)

it's a prequel to G2, which makes it the same universe as G2.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 11:48 AM)

That's clearly not in G2 itself, seeing as it's G.I. Joe issue 138.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 11:45 AM)

@NotVrtyKnightly Im talking about these issues. http://tfwiki.net/wiki/Unfoldings!

@  SHIELD Agent 47 : (24 August 2016 - 11:30 AM)

Now for my part, I consider Marvel G2/Alignment the "true" ending because of Simon Furman's involvement in it, its continuous narrative with Marvel G1, and its sequential publication.

@  SHIELD Agent 47 : (24 August 2016 - 11:28 AM)

The nature of multiple spinoffs/branching timelines means that to call any one spinoff the "true" ending is an arbitrary decision.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 11:16 AM)

Joe doesn't take place "in G2". Even their Marvel TF-related history isn't confined entirely to a single publication from the 90s.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 11:08 AM)

Look, oirignal Marvel Transformers takes place in the same universe as G I Joe and G I Joe takes place in the same universe as G2, which makes G2 the true canon ending.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 11:07 AM)

And it's not like anyone would argue that Rebirth wasn't actually the fourth season of the Sunbow cartoon entirely based on the lack of Ramirez and Old Snake.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 11:07 AM)

No you don't get it, I'm not saying RG1 is "less true" because G I Joe doesn't show up.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 10:54 AM)

Also, it's set decades later and earth was wrecked. Surely you don't need an explanation of why the Joes don't show up.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 10:53 AM)

None of that makes RG1 less "true".

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 10:41 AM)

How is it odd? G I joe and Transformers are canonically in the same continuty. Marvel Transformers continuity is a shared universe. G I Joe is canon and they had a crossover with G2, which makes it canon too, simple as that.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 09:30 AM)

an odd thing to say, surely.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 09:30 AM)

If you haven't read them, picking one over the other because of the presence of G.I. Joes is just

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 09:24 AM)

Also even though it's not officially published, I believe Alignment is canon since it was referenced in Ask Vector Prime and Allspark Almanac.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 09:22 AM)

I don't have an opinion on neither G2 or RG1 since I didn't read them.

@  Dracula : (24 August 2016 - 07:54 AM)

G2 was kind of miserable but even that is preferable to RG1.


Photo
- - - - -

Anyone here ever had a AC unit flood your attic?


10 replies to this topic

#1 The Predaking

The Predaking

    Warlord is amazing!

  • Supporter
  • 36382 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Despondos
  • Faction::Predacon

Posted 16 March 2012 - 10:31 PM

So yeah, after about 4.5 years of living in the house, the ac's drain lines became clogged. This cause the coil's containment box to rust and leak, this leak went into the Auxilary drain pan below it, that also had a clogged drain. So after time, the Auxilary drain rust through, and water soaks through the plywood beneath it and into the drywall underneath. This creates a nice big water spot in my ktichen.

I called a AC guy out, and he wanted to replace the entire coil, pan, and clean out the lines, for $1500. So after getting some serious seconde opinions, and some info from high places, I ended up getting both drain lines snaked out, which cost me just $70. Not much wet insulation up there, as it looks like it soaked straight through the plywood. So I guess that I need to disconnect the drainage pipe and cut out the wood, and replace it with a new wood and auxilary pan.


Anyone else have this problem before?

Restoring an Old Arcade Machine!

 

http://www.allspark....ade-game/page-2

 

 


#2 JRSBill

JRSBill

    Bow Ties are Cool

  • Supporter
  • 1323 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonder Lake, IL
  • Faction::Decepticon

Posted 16 March 2012 - 10:55 PM

I find it strange the AC unit is in the attic. Mines attached to the furnace in the basement and drains to the sump pit with the compressor mounted on the outside of the house on a concrete slab. Been all over the country on vacation and never saw a in attic unit.

Edited by JRSBill, 16 March 2012 - 10:56 PM.


#3 Evil Zoe

Evil Zoe

    Social Security is a promise that we cannot and must not break.

  • Citizen
  • 12439 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Right behind you....
  • Faction::Lesbian Ninja

Posted 16 March 2012 - 10:56 PM

QUOTE(JRSBill @ Mar 16 2012, 08:55 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I find it strange the AC unit is in the attic. Mines attached to the furnace in the basement and drains to the sump pit with the compressor mounted on the side of the house. Been all over the country on vacation and never saw a in attic unit.



Many, many HVAC units are on the roof where I live.

♬·¯·♩¸¸♪·¯·♫ Thinking is the best way to travel ♬·¯·♩¸¸♪·¯·♫


#4 The Predaking

The Predaking

    Warlord is amazing!

  • Supporter
  • 36382 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Despondos
  • Faction::Predacon

Posted 17 March 2012 - 12:30 AM

Well, I don't have a basement, sadly as I would love to utilize one for a Home Theater area. Most of the units here are built into the house's attic, as it makes running the central air condition a lot easier.

Restoring an Old Arcade Machine!

 

http://www.allspark....ade-game/page-2

 

 


#5 Axaday

Axaday
  • Supporter
  • 33437 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Heartland of America

Posted 17 March 2012 - 01:01 AM

QUOTE(JRSBill @ Mar 16 2012, 09:55 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I find it strange the AC unit is in the attic. Mines attached to the furnace in the basement and drains to the sump pit with the compressor mounted on the outside of the house on a concrete slab. Been all over the country on vacation and never saw a in attic unit.


Some parts of the country have basements. A lot don't. I'm sure Pred's compressor is outside too. Abut his coils are in the attic. Mine are too. Used to be in a closet, but when my vents built into the slab foundation collapsed, I had to move all the air handling to the attic and that required the HVAC unit to go up there too.

Pred, my coils haven't flooded, but I have a humidifier attached to my return air and it did. Bad day.

#6 Automan2000

Automan2000

    Liberati tutumet ex infernis

  • Supporter
  • 4355 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia Beach,VA
  • Faction::Cannonball's Pirate Crew

Posted 17 March 2012 - 02:06 AM

I have the air handler in the attic as well. Most attempts to build basements around here would result in below ground swimming pools.

I have had the same problem but a somewhat different cause. The house had been originally built in the 1920's and the central AC had been added sometime in the early 70's. Apparently the drainage wasn't sufficient so over the course of many hot and muggy summers the insulation around the unit had become saturated with water and it started draining from a point the was outside of the drain pan.

The fix wasn't too difficult:
  1. Removed old insulation and rewrapped the the air handler.
  2. Installed a secondary drain pipe on the pan.
  3. Installed a couple of pieces of sheet metal to extend the are covered by the drain pan.

So, even if the insulation became saturated again it wouldn't start leaking out on to the ceiling.

The ceiling itself wasn't too bad either. There isn't a typical sheet rock ceiling instead there are ceiling tiles. I just had to remove and replace about a dozen tiles.

#7 Dake

Dake

    Resident resident

  • Supporter
  • 16443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The planet that is farthest from.

Posted 17 March 2012 - 12:07 PM

Sadly this is a somewhat common occurrence. The blockage is typically due to a build up of algea in the lines. There should be a tee somewhere in the line with the opening pointing up and you can poor a little bleach down there once a year or so just to kill off and clean any of that out.

Once of the things I miss most about living in the northern part of the country is basements. That being said, having the ac stuff in the attic works really well because they have all the room they need for distribution and return lines making it fairly efficient.

The real trick is make sure your water heater is not in the attic too - they built them that way here in Texas and that's a far bigger source of major flooding (though mostly due to freezing). Newer construction usually puts the water heater in the garage. If it is upstairs, inspect it regularly to make sure it's not corroding on the bottom.

Edited by Dake, 17 March 2012 - 12:07 PM.

 
 
6CbAAc9.jpg

#8 skankerzero

skankerzero

    Back in Austin!!

  • Citizen
  • 7379 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, TX
  • Faction::Autobot

Posted 17 March 2012 - 01:57 PM

Yup yup. Happened to me before.

Caused the roof in my master bedroom to collapse in the corner.

Thank goodness we were renting. I just called the landlord and he had to foot the bill.
-----------
jesse sosa
owner / creative director
Dinosaur Games
studio art director
Samsung

#9 Fortress Ironhold

Fortress Ironhold

    Blasphemer

  • Citizen
  • 18974 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copperas Cove, Texas

Posted 17 March 2012 - 02:21 PM

QUOTE(Dake @ Mar 17 2012, 12:07 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
The real trick is make sure your water heater is not in the attic too - they built them that way here in Texas and that's a far bigger source of major flooding (though mostly due to freezing). Newer construction usually puts the water heater in the garage. If it is upstairs, inspect it regularly to make sure it's not corroding on the bottom.


How new is new? And what part of Texas are you in?

Where I live now is 1980s at the oldest, but the heater is in the garage and the AC is by the side of the house.

In fact, I think all the houses on the block are like that.
Lexicon: still up and running!

**

"At my last intern briefing, Craig was clearly tired. His message had changed to, "Stay out of trouble, period." It seemed that, as director of security, Livingstone was growing old fast. If he didn't watch out, he'd become one of us - a 'Mormon' or a 'straight,' which is what Clinton staffers called FBI agents, the Secret Service, and former Bush employees."

Aldrich, Gary. Unlimited Access Washington D.C.: Regency, 1996. Pg 38

**

Please visit my Half.com store

Deviant Art page

#10 Automan2000

Automan2000

    Liberati tutumet ex infernis

  • Supporter
  • 4355 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia Beach,VA
  • Faction::Cannonball's Pirate Crew

Posted 17 March 2012 - 04:22 PM

The AC compressor is by the side of the house but the air handler will be inside somewhere. Usually in the attic or basement.

#11 Dake

Dake

    Resident resident

  • Supporter
  • 16443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The planet that is farthest from.

Posted 18 March 2012 - 08:43 AM

QUOTE(Fortress Ironhold @ Mar 17 2012, 02:21 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(Dake @ Mar 17 2012, 12:07 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
The real trick is make sure your water heater is not in the attic too - they built them that way here in Texas and that's a far bigger source of major flooding (though mostly due to freezing). Newer construction usually puts the water heater in the garage. If it is upstairs, inspect it regularly to make sure it's not corroding on the bottom.


How new is new? And what part of Texas are you in?

Where I live now is 1980s at the oldest, but the heater is in the garage and the AC is by the side of the house.

In fact, I think all the houses on the block are like that.

"New-ish" might have been better - according to my father-in-law at any rate, the eighties seems to be when the change over occurred. We live in Houston and while our neighborhood is new (our house being one of the youngest at 8 years) we're surrounded by neighborhoods built mostly in the seventies and they have water heaters in their attics.
 
 
6CbAAc9.jpg



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users