Jump to content


Entertainment Earth


Toggle shoutbox Squawkbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

Please don't post Youtube videos in the chat box. The forums software auto embeds them. 

@  TriBlurr : (24 May 2016 - 10:14 PM)

I like Taco Bell. But I only get to have it maybe once a decade since there are no Taco bell locations here in Newfoundland

@  Foffy the Sheep : (24 May 2016 - 08:53 PM)

I think he was in my liver, actually.

@  Locoman : (24 May 2016 - 08:45 PM)

Brian Kilby was in our hearts the whole time.

@  Echowarrior : (24 May 2016 - 08:05 PM)

I'm definitely not Brian Kilby.

@  TheMightyMol... : (24 May 2016 - 06:04 PM)

Taco Bell has proven to me that god is truly dead.

@  Paladin : (24 May 2016 - 12:21 PM)

http://uproxx.com/life/taco-bell-fried-chicken-shell/ i hate this & also want to eat this.

@  Benbot : (24 May 2016 - 11:11 AM)

I'm familiar with him but I still don't get the joke.

@  Robowang : (24 May 2016 - 08:07 AM)

Aw, you ruined it.

@  tffan01 : (24 May 2016 - 07:58 AM)

@robowang, I would have laughed at the joke if I knew who is Brian Kilby

@  Benbot : (24 May 2016 - 07:48 AM)

Everyone quickly say something so it scrolls down

@  Robowang : (24 May 2016 - 07:48 AM)

I love this board. I'm still convinced you're all Brian Kilby.

@  tffan01 : (24 May 2016 - 07:47 AM)

beetleman, if you read this I'm not saying this as a fact, it's just a thought.

@  Robowang : (24 May 2016 - 07:42 AM)

*Beetleman logs on and reads this*

@  tffan01 : (24 May 2016 - 07:40 AM)

I think beetleman might have a mental disability of some sorts. I'm not saying he definitely has but if he really does, you guys should be a little kinder to him. That would also explain why he says he is a 19 year old but his parents are overprotective. I'm not saying he definitely has but it's a possibility. Or he's just a 8 year old that says he is an adult.

@  Touch My Thighs : (24 May 2016 - 05:00 AM)

No need to ban him, just remove his ability to post new topics. Problem solved.

@  Msol : (24 May 2016 - 01:01 AM)

So what's the over/under for when beetleman is banned?

@  Telly : (24 May 2016 - 12:26 AM)

is the christmas/holiday special in the latest mtmte trade? or atleast mtmte's segment of that comic

@  Plokatron : (23 May 2016 - 11:09 PM)

Robotic warriors give it their all! Fighting disguised till the victor stands tall!

@  TheMightyMol... : (23 May 2016 - 05:12 PM)

He tried to introduce himself once, but then he was compelled to kidnap himself and nobody's seen him since.

@  Paladin : (23 May 2016 - 04:53 PM)

wait, what about Candlejac

@  TheMightyMol... : (23 May 2016 - 04:45 PM)

All legends are true, except for the ones that aren't.

@  Foffy the Sheep : (23 May 2016 - 04:39 PM)

The Nightitme Secret Aardvark exists?! I though it was just a legend!

@  TheMightyMol... : (23 May 2016 - 04:28 PM)

Well, maybe. That depends on you, really. What you do behind closed doors is none of my business. I'm not the NSA.

@  Foffy the Sheep : (23 May 2016 - 04:24 PM)

Your nights shall be completely shame-free, however.

@  TheMightyMol... : (23 May 2016 - 04:16 PM)

Nope. You will bear the shame of this for all of your days.

@  Telly : (23 May 2016 - 04:00 PM)

can i delete this shout?

@  Steevy Maximus : (23 May 2016 - 02:58 PM)

..goes on forever, forever, forever my...

@  PlutoniumBoss : (23 May 2016 - 12:58 AM)

And a partridge in the song that doesn't end, yes it...

@  Paladin : (22 May 2016 - 06:52 PM)

just as Killamanjaro rises above the Serenghetti....

@  MEDdMI : (22 May 2016 - 05:41 PM)

Stayin' alive! Stayin' alive!

@  Locoman : (22 May 2016 - 05:21 PM)

Everybody walk the dinosaur!

@  Bass X0 : (22 May 2016 - 05:14 PM)

Bombin' the floor! Bombin' the floor!

@  TheMightyMol... : (22 May 2016 - 04:59 PM)

Breakin the law, breakin the law! :::air guitars:::

@  wonko the sane? : (22 May 2016 - 04:09 PM)

I'm watching plenty of TV, but I'm doing it all through the internet.

@  tffan01 : (22 May 2016 - 03:38 PM)

no.

@  Bass X0 : (22 May 2016 - 03:03 PM)

is anyone watching more web original shows and streamed TV shows than actual TV channels?

@  wonko the sane? : (22 May 2016 - 10:49 AM)

I wanted to charge my book, but couldn't cause my brother was charging his cigarette... the future is stupid.

@  Pennpenn : (22 May 2016 - 09:05 AM)

I hate that situation where you spend ages to find something, then realize it isn't charged, but you can't find the charging cable.

@  Locoman : (22 May 2016 - 09:00 AM)

Only cartoons I keep up with are RID2015, Rescue Bots, Adventure Time, Steven Universe, and Rick & Morty

@  Locoman : (22 May 2016 - 08:59 AM)

no, I don't really watch cartoons on tv no more

@  tffan01 : (22 May 2016 - 03:54 AM)

@Locoman, have you watched the cartoon I was talking about (Supernoobs) though?

@  Telly : (21 May 2016 - 10:34 PM)

"Chaos is bad for business, y'see." depends on the kind of business youre in...

@  Foffy the Sheep : (21 May 2016 - 09:34 PM)

Unless we're talking about the guy from Hunger Games, President Snow. He has feet.

@  Foffy the Sheep : (21 May 2016 - 09:33 PM)

Snow doesn't have feet. It's just piles of frozen water.

@  Locoman : (21 May 2016 - 09:29 PM)

you wish, bud. let's see those bastards operate under six feet of snow

@  Foffy the Sheep : (21 May 2016 - 09:28 PM)

What I got out of that was that Canada really wants to have a plague of locusts unleashed upon them.

@  Locoman : (21 May 2016 - 09:25 PM)

y'see, under canadian law all broadcasting corporations operate under a mandate that at least 40% of the content they broadcast must be Canadian content. Naturally, this applies to kid's cartoon channels as well, which is a fairly niche market these days. So animators slap together very cheaply animated flash cartoons and air them in the daytime hours to fill the quota. Hence endless reruns of Johnny Test, Almost Naked Animals, etc.

@  Patchouli Kn... : (21 May 2016 - 09:25 PM)

Chaos is bad for business, y'see.

@  Foffy the Sheep : (21 May 2016 - 09:17 PM)

You're a criminal mastermind. Shouldn't you want to wreak havoc?

@  Patchouli Kn... : (21 May 2016 - 09:16 PM)

You really want to be responsible for the creation of giant radioactive moose?


Photo
- - - - -

Calling PC experts!


15 replies to this topic

#1 Internet Jesus

Internet Jesus

    Dubstep Violence

  • Citizen
  • 20265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Faction::Lesbian Ninja

Posted 29 February 2012 - 05:59 AM

A few years back, my parents' PC running on Vista died. I managed to recover the HD and recently wiped it to use as an external HD.

My computer just died. Right now, I'm using an HP mini (on XP SP3) and upgraded its RAM. I want to upgrade it to Vista but am unsure if I can use the same product key on it.

So I ask this to you guys: Can I use the same key to upgrade my Mini or is my Vista disk useless now?

Edited by Internet Jesus, 29 February 2012 - 06:03 AM.

3DS Friend Code for Pokeymans: 0318-7927-2975

nakamurabanner000.jpg
Icebreaker: Psychiatrist is PROBABLY DEAD. Click here for Archives.


#2 TM2-Megatron

TM2-Megatron
  • Supporter
  • 9718 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada
  • Faction::Equestrian

Posted 29 February 2012 - 07:18 AM

Is it your parent's old copy of Vista (I assume it's an OEM license) you wanted to use on the computer currently running XP? Assuming you have the key, there's no reason it shouldn't work. Those aren't tied to the computer they initially came on; and there shouldn't be any issues installing it on different system, assuming the same license key isn't being used simultaneously on another. If it gives you trouble activiating, calling Microsoft over the telephone activation line should resolve it in just a few minutes; it always has for me.

Honestly, though, it's easier just building a new system from scratch; even if you decide to keep Vista as opposed to buying a Windows 7 license to go with the new build. Upgraded though it may be, you'll likely find Vista will slow down that system you're on considerably, even with the fanciest of the UI elements disabled. Vista isn't nearly as bad as word of mouth made it appear, particularly not the newer service pack; but it's still not exactly easy on resources, either. One of the reasons it ran so terribly a lot of the time when it was first released is that the budget-priced PCs (the models that the average consumers inevitably buy the most of) weren't up to the task of running it.

Edited by TM2-Megatron, 29 February 2012 - 07:19 AM.


#3 lordtaco

lordtaco

    Roll that beautiful bean footage!

  • Supporter
  • 2563 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chattanooga, TN

Posted 29 February 2012 - 08:22 AM

Skip Vista, go directly to Windows 7.

#4 The Predaking

The Predaking

    Warlord is amazing!

  • Supporter
  • 36141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Despondos
  • Faction::Predacon

Posted 29 February 2012 - 09:08 AM

QUOTE(lostorbit @ Feb 29 2012, 07:22 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Skip Vista, go directly to Windows 7.


Agreed!

Restoring an Old Arcade Machine!

 

http://www.allspark....ade-game/page-2

 

 


#5 Dake

Dake

    Resident resident

  • Supporter
  • 16023 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The planet that is farthest from.

Posted 29 February 2012 - 09:31 AM

QUOTE(The Predaking @ Feb 29 2012, 08:08 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(lostorbit @ Feb 29 2012, 07:22 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Skip Vista, go directly to Windows 7.


Agreed!

This implies having or buying a copy of 7 which would preclude needing to recycle Vista.

And yes, your product key should work fine.
 
 
Z1nc21o.jpg

#6 Glenn

Glenn

    Sitting next to me may result in Smart-ass poisoning

  • Supporter
  • 6717 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
  • Faction::Unicron's Spawn

Posted 29 February 2012 - 09:34 AM

the product key will let you install the OS. You may need to call the automated 800 line to register it afterwards.

#7 Kalidor

Kalidor

    Freedom is the Right of All Synthetic Beings

  • Owner
  • 58277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Faction::Cannonball's Pirate Crew

Posted 29 February 2012 - 09:42 AM

Your Vista disk was useless regardless of the product key.

Seriously.. if you can't go to 7 then you should stay with XP. XP is perfectly fine and is not full of problems like Vista is.

card-mindwipe.jpg


#8 The Predaking

The Predaking

    Warlord is amazing!

  • Supporter
  • 36141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Despondos
  • Faction::Predacon

Posted 29 February 2012 - 10:11 AM

QUOTE(Dake @ Feb 29 2012, 08:31 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(The Predaking @ Feb 29 2012, 08:08 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(lostorbit @ Feb 29 2012, 07:22 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Skip Vista, go directly to Windows 7.


Agreed!

This implies having or buying a copy of 7 which would preclude needing to recycle Vista.

And yes, your product key should work fine.


I don't think that the Vista disk will work unless you can get the PC to fake itself to look like one of the manufacture's PCs. I think that he is going to run into problems.

Restoring an Old Arcade Machine!

 

http://www.allspark....ade-game/page-2

 

 


#9 JRSBill

JRSBill

    Bow Ties are Cool

  • Supporter
  • 1318 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonder Lake, IL
  • Faction::Decepticon

Posted 29 February 2012 - 11:30 AM

Keys are not manufacture specific. They can be used on any system.

The only way you will run into problems is if your trying to use the OEM key used for the mass installs. Then you will have problems as that serial is tied to the SLIC 2.0 or 2.1 bios code. There are ways around that, I'm not saying as I'm not going to tell someone how to pirate copies using the OEM specific serial used for all installs from the factory.

Use the key on the side of the computer and you can use it anywhere on any system as long as you haven't activated another computer using that in the last 6 months. Just run the activation request or will you lose the system in 30 days and then they force you to activate.



#10 CORVUS

CORVUS

    Can you hear the thunder thatís breaking?

  • Supporter
  • 30620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA
  • Faction::Autobot

Posted 29 February 2012 - 01:32 PM

QUOTE(Kalidor @ Feb 29 2012, 09:42 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Your Vista disk was useless regardless of the product key.

Seriously.. if you can't go to 7 then you should stay with XP. XP is perfectly fine and is not full of problems like Vista is.

This right here.

Transformers is a brand that really has something for everyone. We are a darn lucky fandom.

 

card_grandmaximus.jpg


#11 Nanite

Nanite

    Imminently Ignorable

  • Supporter
  • 4957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Screaming Moist (Vancouver, WA)

Posted 29 February 2012 - 01:52 PM

QUOTE(^0^CORVUS^o^ @ Feb 29 2012, 10:32 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(Kalidor @ Feb 29 2012, 09:42 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Your Vista disk was useless regardless of the product key.

Seriously.. if you can't go to 7 then you should stay with XP. XP is perfectly fine and is not full of problems like Vista is.

This right here.


Yup. DO NOT INSTALL WITH VISTA. It will mess your PC up something fierce. It will likely also run incredibly slowly. Stick with XP.
On them twitters

#12 Copper Bezel

Copper Bezel

    First, we take Manehattan....

  • Supporter
  • 27319 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Web exclusive!
  • Faction::Equestrian

Posted 29 February 2012 - 02:20 PM

Well, it probably won't break itself, but it's never been shipped on a netbook, and there's a reason. Upgrading the RAM isn't going to compensate. Vista is the most resource-intensive consumer OS ever released, and netbooks are the kind of low-performance devices that Windows 7 was sold on supporting. Now, if he has special requirements for things that don't work with XP, that's another issue, but I can't imagine what that could be.

Edited by Copper Bezel, 29 February 2012 - 02:21 PM.


#13 Internet Jesus

Internet Jesus

    Dubstep Violence

  • Citizen
  • 20265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Faction::Lesbian Ninja

Posted 29 February 2012 - 05:49 PM

Well, I would have used the Windows 7 disk if it were 32-bit, but it's 64-bit and I still plan on repairing my main PC.

So I'm stuck with either Vista or XP.

Looks like XP is the consensus, though.

3DS Friend Code for Pokeymans: 0318-7927-2975

nakamurabanner000.jpg
Icebreaker: Psychiatrist is PROBABLY DEAD. Click here for Archives.


#14 Copper Bezel

Copper Bezel

    First, we take Manehattan....

  • Supporter
  • 27319 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Web exclusive!
  • Faction::Equestrian

Posted 29 February 2012 - 09:58 PM

Yeah, I mean, there are advantages to using Vista, and it does have better security and smarter drivers and so on, but even on ordinary machines, it's really a wash with XP, and it's just not intended for that kind of hardware.

Edited by Copper Bezel, 29 February 2012 - 09:59 PM.


#15 Nebucron

Nebucron

    I like swords.

  • Citizen
  • 2668 posts

Posted 29 February 2012 - 10:22 PM

QUOTE(Kalidor @ Feb 29 2012, 09:42 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Your Vista disk was useless regardless of the product key.

Seriously.. if you can't go to 7 then you should stay with XP. XP is perfectly fine and is not full of problems like Vista is.



Definitely this. I still have an old laptop running on XP and it works just fine, and I haven't had any problems transferring things back and forth to my other computers running on Windows 7, even when going backwards from 7 to XP.

#16 TM2-Megatron

TM2-Megatron
  • Supporter
  • 9718 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada
  • Faction::Equestrian

Posted 01 March 2012 - 07:22 AM

Conversely, the PC I'm about to retire in the next two months or so has been going strong for over 4 years with Vista installed with no crashes, viruses, malware, or any other issues in all that time. Mostly because I waited to move from XP until after the first Service Pack was released, and also because I built the system myself and didn't install garbage components in it, which tends to be what you get in most moderately-priced store-bought PCs. On a high-end machine, it's much more difficult to notice Vista's resource hogging issues.

When the Ivy Bridge chipset is released in the next few months, I'll be building a new system around the Core i7 3770K. I've been putting off upgrading to 7 until then, as Vista still seems quite serviceable on this machine.

But on a system as old as the one being discussed here, as I mentioned in my first reply, upgraded RAM won't really be enough to prevent a very large performance drop-off with Vitsa.

Edited by TM2-Megatron, 01 March 2012 - 07:25 AM.




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users