Jump to content


Entertainment Earth


Toggle shoutbox Squawkbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

Please don't post Youtube videos in the chat box. The forums software auto embeds them. 

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 01:02 PM)

If you're gonna go "we can assume it did happen even though it's never talked about as long as nothing specifically contradicts it", then surely it's just as easy to assume that the actual G1 TF and Joe crossover happened in the backstory of Classics and RG1.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 01:02 PM)

also I refrained from mentioning Ask Vector Prime but but didn't it say RG1 is a splinter timeline?

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 12:58 PM)

has san francisco ever appeared in G I Joe stories that was chronologically set after G2?

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:55 PM)

Intent is not the same as result. And comics end up ignoring things quite often.

@  Telly : (24 August 2016 - 12:54 PM)

maybe they figured a lot of people that read gi joe also read transformers. so they throw a crossover/build up in their to get some excitement for the new comic coming

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 12:51 PM)

If G2 universe was to be unrelated to G I Joe, why did they do a prelude to it?

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:33 PM)

Classics and RG1 not including Joe issues 138-145 in their backstory does not preclude them from including TF 1-80, or even the Joe and TF miniseries.

@  TheMightyMol... : (24 August 2016 - 12:30 PM)

Marvel 616 is also a massive continuity snarl from dozens of writers altering, retconning, or ignoring each others' work for decades, so it's not really a great example for an argument on continuity.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 12:29 PM)

Marvel 616 continuity is a shared universe, devastating events happens in individual series but does mean every event gets mentioned in other comics? @Notvery knightly, yeah that's why I edited that post.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:27 PM)

Your proof for "TF universe = Joe universe" itself is the G2 lead-up, so your reasoning still goes back to G2 matching G2.

@  TheMightyMol... : (24 August 2016 - 12:25 PM)

So did GI Joe ever reference the time Bludgeon sent his entire force to rampage across the Earth? Or the time Jhiaxus blew San Francisco into a crater?

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 12:25 PM)

whatever.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:22 PM)

Are you not seeing the recursiveness of "G2 is the true G1 sequel because G2 follows up on a G2 storyline"?

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 12:18 PM)

Yeah it has been established that Marvel Transformers and G I Joe comics takes place in the same universe. Unless 90s G I Joe was a reboot I'm pretty sure the G2 crossing over to a G I Joe comic that takes place in the very same universe as the original Transformers makes G2 the canon ending.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:16 PM)

A crossover that the Joe comic apparently ignored.

@  Arazyr : (24 August 2016 - 12:15 PM)

They had a crossover before that, 1986. http://tfwiki.net/wi...he_Transformers

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:15 PM)

Did G.I. Joe acknowledge the planet getting wrecked by the Swarm? Because otherwise it's more like "Marvel Transformers is the same universe as Marvel G.I. Joe only when they feel like it".

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 12:11 PM)

You're using the G.I. Joe G2 prequel itself as the basis for "Marvel Transformers universe is the same universe as the Marvel G I Joe", which makes this a rather loopy argument.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 12:07 PM)

As I said before, Marvel Transformers universe is the same universe as the Marvel G I Joe. Marvel G I Joe crossovers with G2, which makes G2 the canon ending. 

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 11:59 AM)

How is that relevant to whether or not RG1 (or Classics, even) takes place after issues 1 through 80 of Marvel TF proper?

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 11:51 AM)

it's a prequel to G2, which makes it the same universe as G2.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 11:48 AM)

That's clearly not in G2 itself, seeing as it's G.I. Joe issue 138.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 11:45 AM)

@NotVrtyKnightly Im talking about these issues. http://tfwiki.net/wiki/Unfoldings!

@  SHIELD Agent 47 : (24 August 2016 - 11:30 AM)

Now for my part, I consider Marvel G2/Alignment the "true" ending because of Simon Furman's involvement in it, its continuous narrative with Marvel G1, and its sequential publication.

@  SHIELD Agent 47 : (24 August 2016 - 11:28 AM)

The nature of multiple spinoffs/branching timelines means that to call any one spinoff the "true" ending is an arbitrary decision.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 11:16 AM)

Joe doesn't take place "in G2". Even their Marvel TF-related history isn't confined entirely to a single publication from the 90s.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 11:08 AM)

Look, oirignal Marvel Transformers takes place in the same universe as G I Joe and G I Joe takes place in the same universe as G2, which makes G2 the true canon ending.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 11:07 AM)

And it's not like anyone would argue that Rebirth wasn't actually the fourth season of the Sunbow cartoon entirely based on the lack of Ramirez and Old Snake.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 11:07 AM)

No you don't get it, I'm not saying RG1 is "less true" because G I Joe doesn't show up.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 10:54 AM)

Also, it's set decades later and earth was wrecked. Surely you don't need an explanation of why the Joes don't show up.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 10:53 AM)

None of that makes RG1 less "true".

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 10:41 AM)

How is it odd? G I joe and Transformers are canonically in the same continuty. Marvel Transformers continuity is a shared universe. G I Joe is canon and they had a crossover with G2, which makes it canon too, simple as that.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 09:30 AM)

an odd thing to say, surely.

@  NotVeryKnightly : (24 August 2016 - 09:30 AM)

If you haven't read them, picking one over the other because of the presence of G.I. Joes is just

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 09:24 AM)

Also even though it's not officially published, I believe Alignment is canon since it was referenced in Ask Vector Prime and Allspark Almanac.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 09:22 AM)

I don't have an opinion on neither G2 or RG1 since I didn't read them.

@  Dracula : (24 August 2016 - 07:54 AM)

G2 was kind of miserable but even that is preferable to RG1.

@  tffan01 : (24 August 2016 - 07:14 AM)

I don't think RG1 is the true ending to the Marvel because G. I Joe was in the same continuity as Transformers and they had a crossover with G2, not RG1 (obviously RG1 didn't exist back then). So G2/Alignment is the true ending.

@  TheMightyMol... : (24 August 2016 - 02:20 AM)

Why do you hate yourself?

@  LBD "Nyt... : (24 August 2016 - 12:45 AM)

I still need to read everything after Vol. 1 of RG1...

@  Telly : (23 August 2016 - 11:47 PM)

i really wouldve liked to see rg1 pick up where the marvel run left off (or just a couple years after), instead of jumping 20 years. i wanna see how shit went down on earth

@  Dracula : (23 August 2016 - 09:54 PM)

After RG1, I'd just as soon have nobody ever touch the marvel continuity again

@  MEDdMI : (23 August 2016 - 08:46 PM)

I would like a dancing/rhythm game called Rhythms of Darkness, but not necessarily Marvel related.

@  Bass X0 : (23 August 2016 - 07:42 PM)

I'd like a Rhythms of Darkness mini-series from IDW following on from the Marvel issue detailing the events that happened in that timeline after the issue ended. The Marvel movie adaptation and The Big Broadcast of 2006 would take place in the same timeline.

@  Telly : (23 August 2016 - 01:21 AM)

someone must think you need another set

@  OrionPax44 : (23 August 2016 - 12:08 AM)

All I keep getting is the add for the FP Stunticon set I already own

@  SHIELD Agent 47 : (22 August 2016 - 11:51 PM)

A tactical shortcoming.

@  MEDdMI : (22 August 2016 - 08:54 PM)

I frequently get ones for hot Asian women. I guess they're not doing their research.

@  Bass X0 : (22 August 2016 - 03:30 PM)

Most of my targeted ads are for things I just recently bought, which seems redundant

@  BScorpinok75 : (22 August 2016 - 12:47 AM)

:o


Photo
- - - - -

So has Blu-ray has made it yet?


54 replies to this topic

#1 The Predaking

The Predaking

    Warlord is amazing!

  • Supporter
  • 36382 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Despondos
  • Faction::Predacon

Posted 19 January 2012 - 10:50 AM

So lately I have been noticing a lot of things concerning Blu-rays. First of all, my Wal*mart is pushing the heck out of them. They are on all of the end caps, in the aisles, and feature prominently in the electronics section. They even have them in bargain bin displays in front of electronics section and by the main checkout areas! Meanwhile, DVDs, aside from the newest releases and the kid movies, are regulated to a back aisle.

Target is very similar in their set up. They have the newest releases on an end-cap, one for Blu-rays and one for DVDs. Now they have about 50% of their movie space dedicated to Blu-rays.They even have a section now for $8 Blu-rays! What's even weirder was that they now have Blu-rays with three movies on them for $15! The one I remember the most had V for Vendetta, Watchmen, and Constantine on it.

The real kicker to this realization is that I was at my local grocery store, Winn Dixie (which is a pretty large southern chain of grocery stores), and they were actually selling used Blu-rays for $8! Not just older films or ones you never heard of either. They had a pretty good mix and they even had some Pixar films like Up.

So what are your thoughts on the matter?

Restoring an Old Arcade Machine!

 

http://www.allspark....ade-game/page-2

 

 


#2 Axaday

Axaday
  • Supporter
  • 33436 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Heartland of America

Posted 19 January 2012 - 10:59 AM

I think Bluray made it about 4 years ago when they stopped making HD-DVDs.

#3 Paladin

Paladin

    Have Zord, Will Travel

  • Citizen
  • 7035 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canton, Michigan
  • Faction::Free Agent

Posted 19 January 2012 - 11:05 AM




This.
SUPERHERO TIME!!!! Ruining Jokes For Everyone!

TWITTER: Paladin4221

#4 skankerzero

skankerzero

    Back in Austin!!

  • Citizen
  • 7379 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, TX
  • Faction::Autobot

Posted 19 January 2012 - 11:13 AM

QUOTE(Paladin @ Jan 19 2012, 10:05 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>



This.


The crazy thing though;


You don't HAVE to upgrade all your movies to enjoy BluRay. All you need is a BluRay player.

The move to HD optical disks isn't like 8mm -> VHS -> DVD in which you had to update all your existing movies to enjoy them on the same machine.

It's super easy to do now since you can get a great BluRay player on the cheap now. (for instance http://www.amazon.co...u...9846&sr=8-1 )
And it will play your existing DVD collection and any BluRay you choose to buy from here on out.

Edited by skankerzero, 19 January 2012 - 11:13 AM.

-----------
jesse sosa
owner / creative director
Dinosaur Games
studio art director
Samsung

#5 Pennpenn

Pennpenn
  • Citizen
  • 9918 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Faction::Autobot

Posted 19 January 2012 - 11:13 AM

Don't most Bluray players play DVDs as well? If they do, you don't need to redo your entire collection. Just get new stuff on Bluray or replace old stuff when it gets damaged or you like the look of a newer version. It's not like the switch from VCR to DVD, you shouldn't act like it is.

#6 Paladin

Paladin

    Have Zord, Will Travel

  • Citizen
  • 7035 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canton, Michigan
  • Faction::Free Agent

Posted 19 January 2012 - 11:31 AM

You also need to upgrade your TV if you want to take "full" advantage of it.


SUPERHERO TIME!!!! Ruining Jokes For Everyone!

TWITTER: Paladin4221

#7 The Predaking

The Predaking

    Warlord is amazing!

  • Supporter
  • 36382 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Despondos
  • Faction::Predacon

Posted 19 January 2012 - 11:45 AM

QUOTE(Paladin @ Jan 19 2012, 10:31 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You also need to upgrade your TV if you want to take "full" advantage of it.


Well, yeah. But those have got extremely cheap these days. I saw Wal*mart had a generic 42" 1080p LCD for under $500.

Restoring an Old Arcade Machine!

 

http://www.allspark....ade-game/page-2

 

 


#8 Paladin

Paladin

    Have Zord, Will Travel

  • Citizen
  • 7035 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canton, Michigan
  • Faction::Free Agent

Posted 19 January 2012 - 11:49 AM

QUOTE(The Predaking @ Jan 19 2012, 11:45 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(Paladin @ Jan 19 2012, 10:31 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You also need to upgrade your TV if you want to take "full" advantage of it.


Well, yeah. But those have got extremely cheap these days. I saw Wal*mart had a generic 42" 1080p LCD for under $500.




We obviously have very, VERY different opinions on what is "extremely cheap."
SUPERHERO TIME!!!! Ruining Jokes For Everyone!

TWITTER: Paladin4221

#9 Kalidor

Kalidor

    Freedom is the Right of All Synthetic Beings

  • Owner
  • 58503 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Faction::Cannonball's Pirate Crew

Posted 19 January 2012 - 11:50 AM

Compared to the 2,500+ it was 3 years ago?

card-mindwipe.jpg


#10 ▲ndrusi

▲ndrusi

    Praise be to Stakeout.

  • Supporter
  • 23304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:YES TOWN
  • Faction::Autobot

Posted 19 January 2012 - 11:50 AM

QUOTE(skankerzero @ Jan 19 2012, 11:13 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
The crazy thing though;


You don't HAVE to upgrade all your movies to enjoy BluRay. All you need is a BluRay player.

The move to HD optical disks isn't like 8mm -> VHS -> DVD in which you had to update all your existing movies to enjoy them on the same machine.

Actually, I have a combined DVD/VHS player. So VHS->DVD wasn't like that for me, while DVD->Blu-Ray would be.

Edited by ▲ndrusi, 19 January 2012 - 11:51 AM.


QUOTE(orionpax44 @ Jun 24 2012, 01:03 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Childrens toys? whaa the boxes seriously say ages 5+ I consider myself the plus.
QUOTE(mx-01 archon @ Sep 9 2012, 01:53 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You're talking to ▲ndrusi. Assume everything that he posts is snark.

#11 Random Items

Random Items

    Just this once, everybody lives!

  • Staff
  • 10438 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Calgary, AB - Canada

Posted 19 January 2012 - 11:50 AM

Well, $500 is very cheap compared to $2500. But yeah.

EDIT: D'oh! Kalidor'd!

Edited by BeltlineYYC, 19 January 2012 - 11:51 AM.

 photo 1446489_1420344741314_full_zps63gobam0.jpg

#12 Benbot

Benbot

    What a nerd

  • Supporter
  • 3735 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Never Past Bedtime Land

Posted 19 January 2012 - 12:39 PM

QUOTE(Paladin @ Jan 19 2012, 11:05 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I grow tired of the cop-out one-liner about not needing or wanting to see an actor?s skin pores, because that excuse completely ignores the reality that everything is clearer, sharper, and more realistic. It?s not just that HD is vastly superior, it?s that SD is very blurry.

#13 Galenraff

Galenraff

    Sarcasm: unappreciated.

  • Administrator
  • 33241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central Illinois
  • Faction::Maximal

Posted 19 January 2012 - 01:00 PM

When I got my HDTV, I went ahead and got component video for my DVD player. That's fine for me. I admit that I see the difference with Blu-Ray when I watch at a friend's place, but I'm simply not doing Blu-Ray. If my DVD player breaks and I need a new one, yes, I'll likely get a Blu-Ray player. But the fact of the matter is that I watch so few DVDs anymore, and of those, the number need to be of higher quality than I already have is very low. I don't want to be tempted to upgrade "favorites," or to buy "just a few new ones." Things are moving digitally, and I'm just skipping this cycle of physical media.

Blu-Ray has made it, yes. But I'm still just making the decision not to go for it. It's great that it doesn't obviate the last cycle, but I just don't have enough of a need for it.

card-pm-optimus.jpg


#14 Esser-Z

Esser-Z

    I'm never going down at the hands of the likes of you

  • Citizen
  • 32940 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Findlay, OH.
  • Faction::Free Agent

Posted 19 January 2012 - 01:02 PM

QUOTE(Benbot @ Jan 19 2012, 12:39 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(Paladin @ Jan 19 2012, 11:05 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I grow tired of the cop-out one-liner about not needing or wanting to see an actor?s skin pores, because that excuse completely ignores the reality that everything is clearer, sharper, and more realistic. It?s not just that HD is vastly superior, it?s that SD is very blurry.

Does the blurr hide anything I actually wand to see? Not that I've noticed. In fact, I haven't noticed this 'very blurry' at all.

#15 The Predaking

The Predaking

    Warlord is amazing!

  • Supporter
  • 36382 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Despondos
  • Faction::Predacon

Posted 19 January 2012 - 01:47 PM

QUOTE(Esser-Z @ Jan 19 2012, 12:02 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(Benbot @ Jan 19 2012, 12:39 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(Paladin @ Jan 19 2012, 11:05 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I grow tired of the cop-out one-liner about not needing or wanting to see an actor?s skin pores, because that excuse completely ignores the reality that everything is clearer, sharper, and more realistic. It?s not just that HD is vastly superior, it?s that SD is very blurry.

Does the blurr hide anything I actually wand to see? Not that I've noticed. In fact, I haven't noticed this 'very blurry' at all.


Yes, yes it does.

Look at them side by side, then you will.

Restoring an Old Arcade Machine!

 

http://www.allspark....ade-game/page-2

 

 


#16 The Predaking

The Predaking

    Warlord is amazing!

  • Supporter
  • 36382 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Despondos
  • Faction::Predacon

Posted 19 January 2012 - 01:50 PM

QUOTE(Paladin @ Jan 19 2012, 10:49 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(The Predaking @ Jan 19 2012, 11:45 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(Paladin @ Jan 19 2012, 10:31 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You also need to upgrade your TV if you want to take "full" advantage of it.


Well, yeah. But those have got extremely cheap these days. I saw Wal*mart had a generic 42" 1080p LCD for under $500.




We obviously have very, VERY different opinions on what is "extremely cheap."


Yeah, but I bought mine on sale about 5 years ago, and I paid around $2200 for my 42" 1080p LCD. 3 years ago I ordered one for my folks on Black Friday for $900. At the time I bought them, those were great deals. With an 80% price drop in 5 years, they are getting extremely cheap compared to what they used to be.

Restoring an Old Arcade Machine!

 

http://www.allspark....ade-game/page-2

 

 


#17 Waspinator

Waspinator

    Waspinator has a headache in his whole body

  • Citizen
  • 21777 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The State of Misery
  • Faction::Predacon

Posted 19 January 2012 - 01:59 PM

Yes, blu-ray is better image quality. However, for me and many people, DVD is "good enough".

PjJhR.gif


#18 Benbot

Benbot

    What a nerd

  • Supporter
  • 3735 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Never Past Bedtime Land

Posted 19 January 2012 - 02:04 PM

QUOTE(Esser-Z @ Jan 19 2012, 01:02 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(Benbot @ Jan 19 2012, 12:39 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(Paladin @ Jan 19 2012, 11:05 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I grow tired of the cop-out one-liner about not needing or wanting to see an actor?s skin pores, because that excuse completely ignores the reality that everything is clearer, sharper, and more realistic. It?s not just that HD is vastly superior, it?s that SD is very blurry.

Does the blurr hide anything I actually wand to see? Not that I've noticed. In fact, I haven't noticed this 'very blurry' at all.


Do you wear corrective lenses? The question is, do you want to see things more as they actually are--in focus--or go around in blurry-land?

#19 Creedence

Creedence
  • Citizen
  • 7337 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 January 2012 - 02:05 PM

QUOTE(Esser-Z @ Jan 19 2012, 12:02 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Does the blurr hide anything I actually wand to see? Not that I've noticed. In fact, I haven't noticed this 'very blurry' at all.

Well, you can actually see Patrick Stewart's face now.

#20 ▲ndrusi

▲ndrusi

    Praise be to Stakeout.

  • Supporter
  • 23304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:YES TOWN
  • Faction::Autobot

Posted 19 January 2012 - 02:12 PM

QUOTE(Benbot @ Jan 19 2012, 02:04 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(Esser-Z @ Jan 19 2012, 01:02 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(Benbot @ Jan 19 2012, 12:39 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(Paladin @ Jan 19 2012, 11:05 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I grow tired of the cop-out one-liner about not needing or wanting to see an actor?s skin pores, because that excuse completely ignores the reality that everything is clearer, sharper, and more realistic. It?s not just that HD is vastly superior, it?s that SD is very blurry.

Does the blurr hide anything I actually wand to see? Not that I've noticed. In fact, I haven't noticed this 'very blurry' at all.


Do you wear corrective lenses? The question is, do you want to see things more as they actually are--in focus--or go around in blurry-land?

Watching you talk about Blu-Ray is a distressingly similar experience to the time I dared mention my cheap $10 headphones on a forum that, unbeknownst to me, had a Resident Audiophile.

QUOTE(orionpax44 @ Jun 24 2012, 01:03 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Childrens toys? whaa the boxes seriously say ages 5+ I consider myself the plus.
QUOTE(mx-01 archon @ Sep 9 2012, 01:53 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You're talking to ▲ndrusi. Assume everything that he posts is snark.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users