Jump to content

Photo

Is it possible to hook up a PS2 to a laptop?


16 replies to this topic

#1 1stStageMidboss

1stStageMidboss
  • Citizen
  • 2830 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England

Posted 05 August 2010 - 11:45 AM

I'm (hopefully) going away to university soon, and I'd like to take a home console with me but I don't want to have to pay for a TV license on top of everything else. I'm going to get a laptop, because I'll need a computer - is there any way that I could play my PS2 (or a Wii or Gamecube) using one instead of a TV?

Edited by Amadeus Windfall, 05 August 2010 - 11:46 AM.

@1ststagemidboss Tumblr
3DS Friend Code: 3952-7308-5185 - Let me know if you add me.
PSN: AWindfall

#2 Glenn

Glenn

    Sitting next to me may result in Smart-ass poisoning

  • Citizen
  • 5786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
  • Faction::Unicron's Spawn

Posted 05 August 2010 - 11:48 AM

Laptops do not accept video input, but are capable of video output. IF a TV is not an option there are external computer monitors that can be used for both a ps2 and a laptop.

#3 Creature SH

Creature SH

    Condemented

  • Supporter
  • 5141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Some trashpile in Germany
  • Faction::Decepticon

Posted 05 August 2010 - 06:17 PM

Could one not use a cheap USB video capture dongle ?

#4 Tm_Silverclaw

Tm_Silverclaw
  • Citizen
  • 7863 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toccoa Ga.
  • Faction::Maximal

Posted 05 August 2010 - 07:08 PM

Something similar to this is what I use: http://www.frys.com/...CH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

Not that exact model though. Make sure it's an ATI or your going to have lag to hell and back.

#5 wonko the sane?

wonko the sane?

    Oh dear lord I am bored...

  • Citizen
  • 31214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada, thats why stuff costs so much!
  • Faction::Free Agent

Posted 05 August 2010 - 07:55 PM

You need to pay a liscence for a TV?

Christ, I thought canada was bad. At least I can score TV's in the trash...

#6 awa64

awa64
  • Citizen
  • 12570 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 05 August 2010 - 10:57 PM

Your best bet is a computer monitor, possibly with an adapter box that can convert composite cables to VGA.

You *could* use a tuner card to play on a laptop, but the input lag would make anything more complex than a turn-based strategy game unplayable.

#7 Tm_Silverclaw

Tm_Silverclaw
  • Citizen
  • 7863 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toccoa Ga.
  • Faction::Maximal

Posted 05 August 2010 - 11:24 PM

And you are wrong.. I use one similar to what I posted all the time.


But of course... no one ever listens to me... so why should I expect this time to be any different.

#8 awa64

awa64
  • Citizen
  • 12570 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 06 August 2010 - 01:03 AM

QUOTE(Tm_Silverclaw @ Aug 6 2010, 12:24 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
And you are wrong.. I use one similar to what I posted all the time.


But of course... no one ever listens to me... so why should I expect this time to be any different.


*shrug* I'm just going based on my own personal experiences with the matter--I had an PCI ATI tuner card in a desktop system for a while, and the lag was too bad to be able to play Tony Hawk on. I figured that even a modern USB device wouldn't be an improvement from that, considering USB 2.0 is still slower than PCI, but if the bottleneck causing the input lag was video processing time (slow processor) rather than data transfer speed, I suppose it could work. I guess I'll take your word for it, but I'm still skeptical.

#9 1stStageMidboss

1stStageMidboss
  • Citizen
  • 2830 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England

Posted 06 August 2010 - 03:55 AM

QUOTE(wonko the sane? @ Aug 6 2010, 01:55 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You need to pay a liscence for a TV?

Christ, I thought canada was bad. At least I can score TV's in the trash...


Yeah, but we get good public service TV out of it. I don't watch much that isn't on the BBC, so it'll worth paying to support it when I do get a TV license.

QUOTE(Tm_Silverclaw @ Aug 6 2010, 01:08 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Something similar to this is what I use: http://www.frys.com/...CH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

Not that exact model though. Make sure it's an ATI or your going to have lag to hell and back.


After having a glance around, these things tend to be fairly expensive, as are Scart to VGA adaptors - on top of a laptop and probably an external hard drive, it'll probably be too much for me. Oh well, I'll have my DS and emulation.
@1ststagemidboss Tumblr
3DS Friend Code: 3952-7308-5185 - Let me know if you add me.
PSN: AWindfall

#10 Kevin S

Kevin S

    Unswerving in my duties

  • Supporter
  • 3945 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:I live in a Lake
  • Faction::Cannonball's Pirate Crew

Posted 06 August 2010 - 05:27 AM

Various companies used to make small LCD screens that you could mount on your PS2, to make them semi-portable. Maybe you can find something like that cheap?

I found this controller screen thing on eBay, selling as a Buy-it-Now for $40.

$43 for a Buy-It-Now 5" portable screen here.

Kevin
My FlickR folder...

And yes, I was too lazy to come up with a decent TF related forum name, and just *GASP* used my own.

#11 Mark Montag

Mark Montag

    Mirrors are more fun than television.

  • Supporter
  • 1633 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Faction::Free Agent

Posted 06 August 2010 - 10:35 AM

QUOTE(Kevin S @ Aug 6 2010, 06:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Various companies used to make small LCD screens that you could mount on your PS2, to make them semi-portable. Maybe you can find something like that cheap?

I found this controller screen thing on eBay, selling as a Buy-it-Now for $40.

$43 for a Buy-It-Now 5" portable screen here.

Kevin


This is exactly what I was gonna say. Get one of these and have a ball.


#12 Glenn

Glenn

    Sitting next to me may result in Smart-ass poisoning

  • Citizen
  • 5786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
  • Faction::Unicron's Spawn

Posted 06 August 2010 - 11:13 AM

QUOTE(Amadeus Windfall @ Aug 6 2010, 04:55 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(wonko the sane? @ Aug 6 2010, 01:55 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You need to pay a liscence for a TV?

Christ, I thought canada was bad. At least I can score TV's in the trash...


Yeah, but we get good public service TV out of it. I don't watch much that isn't on the BBC, so it'll worth paying to support it when I do get a TV license.

QUOTE(Tm_Silverclaw @ Aug 6 2010, 01:08 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Something similar to this is what I use: http://www.frys.com/...CH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

Not that exact model though. Make sure it's an ATI or your going to have lag to hell and back.


After having a glance around, these things tend to be fairly expensive, as are Scart to VGA adaptors - on top of a laptop and probably an external hard drive, it'll probably be too much for me. Oh well, I'll have my DS and emulation.


It's been a while since I've done research on it, but I don't think emulation for ps2 on pc works all that great yet.

#13 1stStageMidboss

1stStageMidboss
  • Citizen
  • 2830 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England

Posted 06 August 2010 - 11:41 AM

QUOTE(Glenn @ Aug 6 2010, 05:13 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
It's been a while since I've done research on it, but I don't think emulation for ps2 on pc works all that great yet.


Yeah, I was thinking older consoles - I'm not spending the huge amount of money it would take to get a laptop that could emulate the PS2 well.

QUOTE(Kevin S @ Aug 6 2010, 11:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Various companies used to make small LCD screens that you could mount on your PS2, to make them semi-portable. Maybe you can find something like that cheap?

I found this controller screen thing on eBay, selling as a Buy-it-Now for $40.

$43 for a Buy-It-Now 5" portable screen here.

Kevin


Oh, good idea! I'll have to keep an eye out for one at a good price.
@1ststagemidboss Tumblr
3DS Friend Code: 3952-7308-5185 - Let me know if you add me.
PSN: AWindfall

#14 kizudarake

kizudarake

    Do you really think I'm always serious?

  • Citizen
  • 3341 posts

Posted 10 August 2010 - 12:52 PM

...I thought you only had to pay for a TV license if you hooked it up to an antenna or cable in Great Britain. I'd read about people arguing that before.

Edit: Of course, I've also read about people trying to get out of paying US taxes and obeying US laws by claiming they're Sovereign Citizens before, too.

Edited by kizudarake, 10 August 2010 - 12:53 PM.

.mlh z vezs bizN bwzO wmz vS .ozrxvkS hznghrisX 2102 csg tmrifw pxfig z tmrwrlez gmvwrxxz izx z mr hvrw bvodziX dvsggzN
????
This message was written in a code where Z=A, Y=B, X=C and so on. I bear no responsibility, should you choose to translate it.

#15 Murry

Murry

    Too insane to care.

  • Retired Staff
  • 6919 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 10 August 2010 - 05:50 PM

I knew germany had the *scrubbed* TV tax, didnt know it was in other countries as well. hugged up.

#16 NXPromethius

NXPromethius
  • Citizen
  • 261 posts
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 10 August 2010 - 06:01 PM

I bought a TV tuner for my PC from amazon, within a week of receiving it TV Licencing wrote to me asking to either get a Licence (which i already had for my house) or to purchase one. So a TV tuner for your laptop will be no good if youre looking to save on that cost.
Dont try to be a great man, just be a man!

#17 Liege

Liege

    Deathsaurus Rising

  • Supporter
  • 4500 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Providence RI (Formerly Pittsburgh PA &amp; Wales UK)
  • Faction::Cannonball's Pirate Crew

Posted 10 August 2010 - 09:53 PM

Just remove the aerial and you'll be fine.

I did this in uni (just used my tv for dvds and games) and I never had any trouble.
QUOTE(NightViper @ Aug 3 2013, 02:28 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE(Escargon @ Aug 1 2013, 10:04 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
And Liege, you're words really have had an effect on me. It made me relise I've shouldn't care about what others think of me, I should only care about what I think of myself.

Liege is a small dude with a lot of wisdom.

Well one of those descriptive words is accurate I suppose!

3ds friend code: kyle 4141 2965 5460 pm me yours to add.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users